La Petite Papeterie Française

Slow Office Manifesto

In a hurry? We are too. Let's slow down - fast.

Every one of us is exposed to the speed of modern-day life. In the world of business, this means:

Quickly getting to work, spending the day without managing to draw breath. Eating fast, thinking fast, going home fast; sleeping too little. Repeat. Expandable to-do lists, "due yesterday" of course, becoming multi-tasks, non-stop meetings, a surfeit of "priorities", information overload... STOP! Let's take a break!

Here, you have a rendezvous with another world of work entirely. Your office, your organisation, your job, occupies an important place in your life: we're inviting you to live it, rather than suffer it.

These moments spent thinking, writing, reading, drawing, organising, producing, all deserve their time. We have a name for that place and time: Slow Office.

Inspired by the Slow movement, Slow Office is a manifestation of the movement's principles regarding production and consumption.

By way of opposition to the fast food and agrifood business, the Slow movement was founded in the late 80s in Italy, from the pen of Carlo Petrini, a journalist, sociologist and food critic. It first concerned itself with food, inviting people to remain aware of the seasons, to take note of food miles, to develop knowledge about products and about the environment in which we live.

Theorised by the Englishman Alastair Fuad-Luke, Slow Design was founded in 2002 and offers a holistic approach to design. The well-being of users and the consideration of social, environmental, sustainability and contemplation factors, amongst others – numerous initiatives have resulted from it, inviting us all to explore a new sensorial pleasure.

As we considered everyday paper objects, it became clear to us that the functional office was becoming a privileged place where people should stop, breathe, enjoy, reflect, eliminate the shock caused by our hyper-activity, and slow down - fast.

But in order to slow down in the office, you need to appreciate your environment and tools.

"Living and thinking" Slow Office means taking the time to understand and control your own personal pace; it means being aware of the here and now so that you are able to accommodate all contingencies with serenity. In fact, what results is a functional work environment of beautiful materials, soft colours and inspiring items that will amaze you, your customers, your colleagues and partners.

But living in a Slow Office manner also means knowing how to receive. In a meeting or an appointment, go back to some principles of savoir-vivre. When we start a joint project, some details are paramount in order to facilitate and encourage a collaborative spirit and collective intelligence: a drink in a beautiful cup, something to write a few lines on nice paper with – to draw, sketch, share. And do it all again. With pleasure.

The art of living applies to the office. 

It's the art of office living.

Slow down, breathe, feel, create with pleasure and receive with generosity.

La Petite Papeterie Française team, Paris, April 2015.

La Petite Papeterie Française
In english, please!
Slow Office
 

Manifeste du Slow Office

Vous êtes pressé ? nous aussi. Faisons vite, ralentissons.

Chacun d’entre nous est exposé à la rapidité de la vie. Appliqué à l’univers professionnel cela donne :

Vite partir travailler, voir sa journée défiler sans parvenir à respirer. Manger vite, penser vite, rentrer vite, dormir peu. En boucle. To-do listes à rallonges, bien sûr « c’est-pour-hier », devenir multi-tâches, les réunions qui s’enchaînent, surplus de « priorités », surplus d’informations,… STOP. Posons-nous !
Vous avez rendez-vous ici avec un tout autre univers de travail. Votre bureau, votre organisation, votre travail, occupe une place importante dans votre vie, nous vous proposons de le vivre plutôt que de le subir.

Ces instants passés à penser, écrire, lire, dessiner, organiser, produire, méritent leurs temps.
Nommons ce lieu et ce temps : Slow Office.

Inspiré du mouvement Slow, le Slow Office en est une déclinaison de ces principes de production et de consommation. 
En contradiction au fast food et à l’agro-alimentaire le mouvement Slow est né à la fin des années 80 en Italie, sous la plume de Carlo Petrini, journaliste, sociologue et critique gastronomique. D’abord tourné vers l’alimentation, il invite à rester sensible aux saisons, à prendre conscience des distances, à développer une connaissance des produits et de l’environnement dans lequel on vit.
Théorisé par l’Anglais Alastair Fuad-Luke, le Slow Design naît en 2002 et propose une approche holistique du design. Bien-être des utilisateurs, prise en compte des facteurs sociaux, respect de l’environnement, durabilité, contemplation… s’en suivent de nombreuses initiatives qui invitent toutes à explorer une nouvelle sensorialité de l’objet. 

A contempler les objets en papier du quotidien, il nous est apparu évident que le bureau fonctionnel devenait un lieu privilégié dans lequel il est nécessaire de s’arrêter, souffler, s’amuser, réfléchir, tenir le choc de notre hyper-activité pour soudainement mieux ralentir.

Mais ralentir au bureau nécessite d’apprécier son environnement et ses outils.

Vivre et penser Slow Office, c’est prendre le temps de gérer et comprendre son rythme ; c’est prendre conscience du ici et maintenant pour accueillir tous les imprévus avec sérénité. De fait, en découle un environnement de travail fonctionnel, fait de belles matières, de couleurs douces, d’objets inspirants qui vous étonnent, vous, vos clients, vos collègues, vos partenaires. 

Mais vivre le Slow Office c’est aussi prendre en compte le Savoir-Recevoir. En réunion, en rendez-vous, revenons à quelques règles de Savoir-Vivre. Lorsque nous commençons un travail en commun, quelques détails sont primordiaux pour mettre a l’aise et  favoriser l’esprit collaboratif et l’intelligence collective : Une boisson dans une belle tasse, de quoi écrire quelques lignes sur un joli papier, dessiner, schématiser, partager. Et l’on recommence. Avec plaisir.

L’art de vivre s’applique au bureau.
C’est l’art de vivre au bureau.
Ralentissez, respirez, touchez, créez avec plaisir et recevez de façon généreuse.

L'équipe de La Petite Papeterie Française
Paris, avril 2015.